About the NDATT

The National Drama Association of Trinidad and Tobago is a collective of professional and amateur theatre practitioners who are committed to the development of the theatre industry in Trinidad and Tobago.

NDATT, a non-profit organisation founded in 1980 by James Lee-Wah, is the first and only statutory body that represents the interests of theatre in Trinidad and Tobago. Lee Wah felt that the drama fraternity could gain from a united body to promote drama and the interest of drama groups. Theatre in T&T is composed of diverse disciplines including acting, dancing, singing, all of which are incorporated into our indigenous art form, the Best Village style of theatre. Theatre also cannot exist without writers, visual artists, technical theatre practitioners and designers of various ilks and of course producers.

The Association has as its aim the representation of all of these individuals as one collective body, where all persons work together to develop and support each other. NDATT aims to foster an interest in, develop and help facilitate all aspects of the art of drama in Trinidad and Tobago; protect and ensure the freedom of expression for dramatic artists and promote all aspects of drama.

NDATT is open to members of all ages and at all stages of theatre development, as it is acknowledged that varied perspectives and experiences can come together to make a stronger Association.

NDATT has been on hiatus since 2014, but a new executive has been elected following an Annual General meeting on July 23, 2017. The new executive body consists of:

President – Wendell Etienne
Vice President – Triston Wallace
Secretary – Safa Niamat-Ali
Assistant Secretary – Ria L. Carrera-Toney
Treasurer – Theresa Awai
Public Relations Officer – Paula Lindo
Education Officer – Anderson La Barrie
Resource Development Officer – Rubadiri Victor

In addition, in endeavouring to revitalize the Association, the membership fees have been temporarily revised at a provisional rate by the Caretaker Committee to allow for ease of access. Individual membership is $25, student membership is $10 (with student ID) and group membership is $100.

Click here to join now!